DeCordova New England Biennial

By Learn More

DeCordova New England Biennial 2019 presents a survey of contemporary art of New England, showcasing compelling and ambitious art-making in the region. The twenty-three artists selected for the Biennial are from all six northeastern states—Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont. Featuring work across diverse mediums including painting, video, sculpture, photography, fiber art and ceramics, the Biennial will occupy all galleries of the Museum and extend into the Sculpture Park with new site-specific commissions.

DeCordova New England Biennial 2019 Artists:
Mildred Beltré (VT)
William Binnie (MA)
Bradley Borthwick (ME)
Jenny Brillhart (ME)
Eli Brown (MA)
Carl D’Alvia (CT)
Anoka Faruqee & David Driscoll (CT)
Ken Grimes (CT)
Yoav Horesh (NH)
Erin Johnson (ME)
George Longfish (NH)
Eva Lundsager (MA)
Jonathan Mess (ME)
Zoe Pettijohn Schade (MA)
Jordan Seaberry (RI)
Alexandria Smith (MA)
Sheida Soleimani (RI)
Emilie Stark-Menneg (RI)
Chanel Thervil (MA)
Stephen Tourlentes (MA)
Elizabeth Tubergen (CT/MA)
Bhakti Ziek (VT)

An accompanying publication and full-slate of public programming will enrich the show’s presentation. The Biennial is a mainstay of deCordova’s programming and mission, and exemplifies the Museum’s commitment to New England arts. DeCordova began hosting its Annual exhibitions in 1989 and inaugurated the Biennial format in 2010.

The deCordova New England Biennial 2019 organizers are: Sarah Montross, Curator; Sam Adams, Koch Curatorial Fellow; Elizabeth Upenieks, Curatorial Assistant; Martina Tanga, former Koch Curatorial Fellow; and Scout Hutchinson, former Curatorial Assistant.

Support for this exhibition and publication was generously provided by anonymous donors, The Artist’s Resource Trust Fund of the Berkshire Taconic Community Foundation, The Meredyth Hyatt Moses Fund, and the Nathaniel Saltonstall Arts Fund.